Our all-volunteer organization utilizes committees as working groups to achieve our mission. Any subscribers may take it upon themselves to establish and organize a committee that forwards the organization’s mission. Final authority to make changes to the organization, its goals, objectives, and guidelines, shall rest in the hands of the Board of Directors.

Board of Directors   gsi@gistsupport.org

 

Lee Ann Lamb, Co-Manager

leeann@gistsupport.org

Marina Symcox, Co-Manager

marina@gistsupport.org

Ginger Sawyer, Treasurer

ginger@gistsupport.org

Joan Marie, Secretary

joan@gistsupport.org

Yvonne Blixt

yvonne@gistsupport.org

Donna Capps

donna@gistsupport.org

Becky Bensenhaver

becky@gistsupport.org

Phyllis Gay

phyllis@gistsupport.org

Nancy Berezin

nancy@gistsupport.org

 

 

Greeters

Greeters are members of GSI who have volunteered to write personal welcome letters to those just signing up for our mailing list.

  • Anne Coffey, Greetings Coordinator
  • Nancy Armstrong

Phone Pals

This committee was formed from a need to offer support and information to those primarily without computer access. It is also an outreach for those who would rather speak in person to someone rather than by e-mail. This very large group of volunteers is headed up by Nea Paquet. In order to request a call from a Phone Pal, call 215-340-9374 or send an e-mail request to gsi@gistsupport.org.

  • Nea Paquet, Phone Pals Coordinator

Science Committee

The members of the science committee keep an eye on new medical papers pertaining to GIST and watch for new drugs in development that might be used in treating GIST. They summarize the most applicable information on our website, keeping it an up-to-date medical and scientific resource to our GSI community.

 

  • Julia D. Royster, Ph.D., Science Coordinator julie@gistsupport.org
  • Becky Bensenhaver
  • Nancy Berezin
  • Anna Costato
  • Anette Duensing, M.D.
  • Penny Duke
  • Genever Fox, D.V.M.
  • Nick Funk
  • Phyllis Gay
  • Mel Heller, M.D.
  • Linda Hughes 
  • Sherri Janousky
  • Rick Lamb
  • Leslie Norman, M.D.
  • Rebeca Porto, M.D.
  • Geoffrey Shulman, M.D.
  • Marina Symcox, Ph.D.

Website Committee

The website committee is composed of volunteers within our group who work together to make changes and updates to our web site.

 

  • Butch, Website Coordinator
  • Edward Chan
  • Paul Cutler
  • Joan Marie
  • Julie Royster
  • Frank Servich

Wildtype GIST Committee

The Wildtype GIST Committee deals with issues faced by all wildtype GIST patients, including adults and young patients with syndromic GIST such as Carney Triad, or Carney-Stratakis dyad.

  • Phyllis Gay, Wildtype GIST Committee Coordinator